How access to information works
It's important for a business to share information, but it's also important to protect it. That's why you need to know and understand how information access permissions work throughout the Aptien system. In other words, WHO sees WHAT and WHO does not see WHAT.
Only logged-in users can access information in the system. Any information that you do not mark as public or send out of the system will not be accessible to anyone outside the company or your circle of users. For this reason, it is important that you, as users protect your login information from misuse or theft.
The information is stored in different parts of the system and access to it is sometimes decided by you as a user and sometimes decided by your administrator.
- Access to company Organizers and applications is decided by the administrator, and access is controlled by role (job title)
- Access to tasks, notes, and minutes is decided by users
Access to information in the Organizers is governed by your role
Each user uses the system based on his or her job title and sees the scope of information and Organizers accordingly. Your job title is matched to your role in the system, which you can see next to your username. Thus, each person sees what he or she is supposed to see from his or her job role and does not see what he or she is not supposed to see. Access to the information in the Organizers is therefore determined by the role you have been assigned and set by your administrator. As a user, you can have one or more roles that you can switch between.
Click here for details: How Organizers permissions work
Only those who are working on tasks have access to them
Tasks are only for those who are working on them. Thus, only those responsible and those following the task can see it. Each task has one responsible person and can have several followers. If you are alone on a task (as the responsible person), no one else can see the task or open it. If there are multiple followers on a task, each of them can see that task. Unattached tasks (that are not attached to any item) are not even visible to anyone else in the system.
Click here for details: How task permissions work
Minutes are public or for participants only
Minutes are set as public by default in the system. Therefore, anyone can see the minutes and their content, not just the participants. This makes it easier to find and share information across work teams in the company.
If you set your specific minutes as private, only the meeting participants listed in the minutes will see them.
Learn how you can create minutes.
Your notes are either private or shared
Only you can see private notes. Shared notes are visible to everyone you share them with. You, as the user, decide which other users you share a particular note with. You can select both individual users and groups of users.
Learn how to share notes.
Attachment folders for selected roles
The default setting for the attachment folder is that all users can see it, but guests cannot. You can set the folders to be accessible only to certain roles and make them available to guests as well.
Click here for details: How folder permissions work
Guests can only see selected pages
Guests are typically external employees who work in a special environment (extranet), and you only grant them access to individual items (for example, a specific order). In the settings, the administrator can decide what a particular guest can see and do. For example, what information about the order the guest will see, whether they can see attachments and documents, whether they can create requests and participate in tasks.
Click here for details: How to set up sharing with guests
You can set up a watchdog for yourself or share it with some of your colleagues. They then have access to the watchdog and can change its settings. Everyone with access to the watchdog will receive notifications according to its settings.
Only those users who are either submitting or voting in the poll can access the poll. Again, individual voters and groups can be added.
Requests and notices
Requests and notices can be created by any user with a role that has permission for requests and notices. Created requests or notices are only available to the creator, set approvers, and followers.